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SECTION: 300 – Human Resources PROCEDURE #:  304-A 

TITLE: Family Medical Leave IMPLEMENTS POLICY #: 304 

SPONSORING DEPARTMENT/DIV: Human Resources 

EFFECTIVE DATE: 09/17/2024 REVIEWED: 09/17/2024 

 
OBJECTIVE:  
To establish procedures for administering protected leave for qualifying events in accordance 
with the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), the Oregon Family Leave 
Act (OFLA) and the Paid Family Medical Leave Insurance (PMFLI) Act of 2019 (also known 
as Paid Leave Oregon or PLO) 
 
PURPOSE: 
The purpose of these family medical leave laws is to secure the right of eligible employees to 
respond to serious health and safety needs for themselves and their qualified family members.  
 
AUTHORITY: 
The authority to issue or revise these procedures is reserved to the County Administrator. The 
County Administrator may authorize exceptions to these procedures when deemed appropriate. 
 
GENERAL SUMMARY: 
Generally, eligible employees may take up to 12 weeks off work for Family Medical Leave for 
themself or covered family members.  Additional leave time may be available in certain 
situations as outlined below under qualifying events. 
 
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS: 
To qualify for FMLA, the employee must have worked for a total of 12 months and 1,250 
hours during the 12 months preceding the leave. To qualify for OFLA, the employee must have 
been employed for a period of 180 calendar days preceding the date of leave and worked an 
average of 25 hours. To qualify for PLO, the employee must have earned at least $1,000 in 
Oregon wages in the 52 weeks prior to the qualifying event.  
 
QUALIFYING EVENTS: 
 
For all qualifying events under FMLA, OFLA, or PLO  

1. Generally, employees may take a total of twelve (12) weeks of leave in a 12- month period for 
any qualifying event. In accordance with current law, qualified FMLA, OFLA and PLO leave at 
times may run concurrently.  
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2. One week of leave is based on the regular work schedule of the employee prior to the start of 
leave.  

3. Leave for the birth of the employee’s child, or the placement of a child for adoption or foster 
care with the employee (‘parental/bonding leave’) must be taken within twelve (12) months of 
the birth or adoption.  

 
Qualifying events under FMLA  

1. Employee Serious Health  
2. Family Member Serious Health  
3. Pregnancy Disability  
4. Bonding / Child Placement  
5. Military Caregiver / Military Exigency  
6. Disability leave due to a compensable on-the-job injury will be designated under FMLA and will 

run concurrently with Workers’ Compensation Leave in accordance with federal regulations.  
 
Qualifying Events under OFLA  

1. Home care for the employee’s child (both serious and non-serious health conditions) as well as 
school and childcare closures for public health emergencies  

2. Pregnancy Disability - 12 weeks in addition to other OFLA eligible leaves in the same leave 
year. Cannot be used at the same time as any PLO leave for the same reason. 

3. Bereavement Leave; two weeks per family member; maximum of 4 weeks per leave year  
4. Military Family Leave up to 14 days per deployment.  

 
Qualifying Events under PLO  

1. Employee Serious Health  
2. Family Serious Health  
3. Pregnancy Disability – 2 weeks  
4. Bonding / Child Placement  
5. Safe Leave  

 
QUALIFYING FAMILY MEMBER: 
 
Defined by FMLA 

1. Spouse 
2. Child 
3. Parent 

 
Defined by OFLA and PLO 

1. Your spouse or domestic partner 
2. Your parent or parent of your spouse or domestic partner  
3. Your child (biological, adopted, stepchild or foster child) 
4. Your spouse or domestic partner’s child 
5. A child’s spouse or domestic partner 
6. Your parent’s spouse or domestic partner 
7. Your sibling or stepsibling or their spouse or domestic partner 
8. Your grandparent or your grandparent’s spouse or domestic partner 
9. Your grandchild or your grandchild’s spouse or domestic partner 
10. Affinity family member (a person the employee is connected to like family) 
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SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION: 
A serious health condition is defined as an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental 
condition that falls into one or more categories which indicate the severity of the condition, or the 
type of medical treatment involved. These categories are: 

• Inpatient care 
• Poses an imminent danger of death or possibility of death in the near future 
• Continuing treatment by a Health Care Provider 
• Conditions requiring multiple treatments 
• Involves a period of disability due to pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage or 

stillbirth, or period of absence for prenatal care 
• Any period of absence for the donation of a body part, organ or tissue, including 

preoperative or diagnostic services, surgery, post-operative treatment and 
recovery. Subject to applicable laws. 

 
SAFE LEAVE: 
Safe leave is paid time off for survivors of: 

• Sexual Assault 
• Domestic Violence 
• Harassment 
• Bias Crimes 
• Stalking 

 
PROCEDURES: 
1. Notification to Washington County 

1.1. Employees must notify Washington County Human Resources Leave 
Administration when they are requesting a leave potentially eligible under 
FMLA, OFLA and/or PLO. Failure to provide timely notice may result in 
delay or loss of leave benefits. 

1.2. Once a PLO claim has been filed, when an employee receives their Report of 
Wages and Benefit Amount from the Oregon Employment Department, the 
employee shall provide the County with a copy of the notice to facilitate the 
calculation of any accrual use. 

1.3. Employees are required to provide written thirty (30) calendar days’ notice 
before commencing a period of foreseeable family, medical, or safe leave, and 
providing oral notice within twenty-four (24) hours after the commencement 
of an emergency or unforeseeable period of family, medical, or safe leave, and 
providing written notice within three (3) calendar days after the 
commencement of the emergency leave. 

1.4. Family members may give notice on an employee’s behalf when the employee 
is unable to do so. 

 
2.  Medical Certification Requirements: 

2.1. A licensed health care provider must complete the Certification of Health Care 
Provider form for leave to care for an employee's family member with a serious health 
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condition, or the employee's own serious health condition, including disability for 
pregnancy and following childbirth. The health care provider must be performing 
within the scope of their professional license or certificate. 

2.2. Medical certification for FMLA or OFLA may be requested even if not permitted 
by the Oregon Sick Leave statute. PLO required medical certification may be 
acceptable in some cases in place of the Certification of Health Care Provider for 
a concurrent leave event. 

2.3. The written certification must include satisfactory evidence that confirms the 
serious health condition of the employee, provide an estimate of when the 
employee will be able to return to work, state whether the employee’s incapacity 
will require intermittent treatments, state the estimated frequency and duration of 
such treatments, and provide the estimated period for recovery, if known. 

2.4. Certification of Health Care Provider form must be submitted to Human 
Resources Leaves Administration within fifteen (15) days of the request. Failure to 
provide the required certification may result in denial of the requested leave. 

2.5. If the serious health condition is related to a family member, the attending health 
care provider must indicate on the Certification of Health Care Provider form that 
the employee must provide care (which may include psychological comfort, basic 
medical, hygiene, nutritional needs, safety, transportation, arrangement for third 
party care). 

2.6. If a certification is incomplete or insufficient the employee may be provided up to 
seven (7) calendar days to submit clarifying information from their healthcare 
provider before a leave determination is made.  

2.7. The County will require that an employee who provides notice for PLO leave 
disclose whether that leave is for a family, medical, or safe leave purpose. If the 
PLO leave is for a family member, the County will also require that the employee 
disclose which family member the leave is for. The County will not require that 
the employee disclose confidential information, or any other specific information 
related to why or what the PLO leave is needed for except to determine whether 
other federal leave protections must run concurrently. 

2.8. If validity of the medical certification is in doubt, the County may require the 
employee or family member to obtain a second opinion at the County's expense. 

2.9. Recertification may be requested every 30 days, or more frequently if 1) the 
employee requests an extension of leave, 2) circumstances described by the 
previous medical verifications have changed significantly, or 3) the employer 
receives information that casts doubt upon the employee’s stated reason for the 
absence. 

2.10. Recertification for a chronic condition requiring an ongoing intermittent leave 
under FMLA will be required every six (6) months. 

2.11. A medical verification may be required for leave taken for the non-serious health 
condition of a child requiring home care (sick child leave) after the third 
occurrence of sick child leave and every subsequent occasion during the leave 
year. 

 
3. Intermittent or Reduced Work Schedule Leave: 

3.1. Employees may take their FMLA, OFLA, or PLO leave continuously or 
intermittently, subject to certification by the healthcare provider and requirements 
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under the law. Under certain circumstances, employees may use their leave to 
reduce the work week. Intermittent leave or reduced work schedule leave may be 
requested by the employee; however, it must be in full day increments for PLO. 

3.2. Regardless of the type of leave approved, under FMLA, OFLA or PLO, it is the 
employee’s responsibility to accurately report their time missed due to intermittent 
leave within the established County leave tracking system and on their county 
timesheet, such that the total hours must match.   Failure to accurately report time 
missed may result in discipline up to and including termination of employment. 

3.2.1. An employee may request that bonding/parental leave be taken 
intermittently.  The employee’s planned schedule is to be documented on 
“Intermittent Parental Leave Form A” prior to the start of the leave and 
shared with their Supervisor and Leave Administration. 

3.2.2. Parental leave must be completed within twelve (12) months of the birth, 
adoption, or placement of the child in foster care. 

3.3. Employees may be asked to schedule leave periods so that it does not unduly 
interfere with county operations. 

3.4. The county reserves the right to temporarily place an employee in an available, 
alternative position with equivalent pay and benefits if the alternative position 
would better accommodate the intermittent or reduced schedule. If leave is also 
OFLA qualifying, the County will seek the employee’s permission for the 
alternative assignment. 

3.5. In the case of partial day intermittent or a reduced work schedule leave, the 
employee’s position retains its designated FTE status (full-time or part-time). If 
PLO is not approved, the difference between hours usually scheduled and actual 
hours worked must be covered by use of accrued leaves if available. If not 
available, then unpaid time will be used for hours missed until qualifying leave 
time is exhausted. 

 
4. Use of Accrued Paid Leave: 

4.1. Once confirmation of an employee’s application to PLO is received, the 
employee may choose whether to use accrued leave to supplement their 
earnings from the Oregon Employment Department.  

4.2. If an employee has not applied for PLO, or the leave reason does not qualify 
for PLO, the employee must use all accrued paid leave, including any paid 
leave accrued during the employee’s qualified leave, prior to commencing any 
period of unpaid leave. 

4.3. Employees will not be eligible to accrue vacation leave or seniority if they incur 
unqualified pay periods as defined by Washington County’s Personnel Rules and 
Regulations. 

4.4. Under no circumstances will an employee be permitted to go back and forth 
between paid and unpaid leaves for the purpose of extending eligibility for 
County paid benefits or earning service accruals. 

4.5. An employee who has applied for PLO, may designate the order of leave 
accrual usage, in writing, to the County.  Use of accruals to supplement PLO 
benefits and any requested order of use must be communicated to the County 
Leave Administration team on an Accrual Use Request Form. If the employee 
does not designate a specific order for leave accrual use, the County will use 
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and deplete an employee’s accrued leave(s) in the following order: sick leave, 
MAPPS, holiday leave or (ILH), vacation leave, and comp time. If the 
employee designates a specific order of leave, the County will use that order 
for the remainder of the leave, or until the employee provides timely written 
notice (prior to the end of the pay period) requesting to change the order and/or 
number of hours used.  If accruals are used prior to PLO notification they will 
not be retroactively reinstated. 

 
5. Benefits Continuation during Leave 

During an approved leave, the County will continue its contribution to employer 
paid benefits for leave periods that qualify under FMLA, OFLA, or PLO at the same 
level and under the same conditions in place when working.  Employees will be 
responsible for their share of the premiums, and these will be collected during the 
leave or upon return if the County is unable to collect due to the employee entering 
unpaid status. 
 

6. Return to Work after Leave 
It is the employee’s responsibility to provide a timely Release to Work form from a 
healthcare provider if leave was taken due to the employee’s own serious health 
condition. The employee should upload the release to their leave profile in the 
County leave administration software, provide it to their supervisor or send it to the 
Human Resources Department’s HRLeaveAdministration@washingtoncountyor.gov  
email box to review for any continuing restrictions that may impact the employee’s 
return to full duty. Once received, the Leaves Administration team will notify the 
supervisor of the full medical release, or discuss any limitations noted on the 
Release form that may impact the employee’s ability to perform the essential 
functions of the position. 

7. FMLA/OFLA Military Leaves: 
7.1. FMLA Military Caregiver Leave for an Injured Servicemember 

7.1.1. An eligible employee who is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of 
kin (defined as the closest blood relative) of a covered servicemember 
shall be entitled to a total of twenty-six (26) workweeks of leave during a 
12-month period to care for the servicemember. 

7.1.2. A covered servicemember is a member of the Armed Forces, including a 
member of the National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical 
treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is 
otherwise on the temporary disability retired list for a serious injury or 
illness; or a veteran who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, 
or therapy for a serious injury or illness, and who was discharged within 
the previous 5 years before the eligible employee takes FMLA military 
caregiver leave to care for the veteran. 

 

mailto:HRLeaveAdministration@washingtoncountyor.gov
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7.2. FMLA/OFLA Family Leave Due to a Qualifying Exigency or Call to Active 
Duty 

7.2.1. An eligible employee may use up to twelve (12) weeks of FMLA leave 
for any qualifying exigency as defined by the Department of Labor 
arising from a spouse, son, daughter, or parent who is either on active 
duty in the Armed Forces, or who has been notified of an impending call 
or order to active duty in the Armed Forces. 

7.2.2. FMLA leave for a qualifying exigency is not in addition to the standard 
FMLA 12-week entitlement; rather, it constitutes an additional qualifying 
reason for seeking FMLA leave. 

7.2.3. An eligible employee who is a spouse or registered domestic partner of a 
member of the Armed Forces, the National Guard, or the military reserve 
forces of the United States may use up to fourteen (14) days of OFLA 
leave per deployment or leave from deployment. The employee must 
notify the County of their intention to take such leave within five (5) 
business days of receiving notice of an impending call or order to active 
duty or of a leave from deployment, or as soon as is practicable when 
official notice is provided fewer than 5 days before commencement of 
the leave. 

7.2.4. OFLA leave taken for deployment or leave from deployment of an 
employee’s spouse or registered domestic partner is not in addition to the 
standard OFLA 12-week entitlement; rather, it constitutes an additional 
qualifying reason for seeking OFLA leave. 

7.2.5. Employees utilizing OFLA leave pursuant to this subsection may use any 
accrued leave they have earned for any part of the qualified leave. 

7.2.6. The use of OFLA leave by an employee pursuant to this subsection shall 
run concurrently with their FMLA leave entitlement under this 
subsection which may not be taken separately or consecutively. 

 
8. Training. 

The County will make available and encourage Staff to attend training that is 
designed to inform Staff about Family Medical Leave provisions. The Family 
Medical Leave Policy and corresponding Administrative Procedures will be covered 
in the training sessions. 
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