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HOW TO APPEAL A DECISION OF  
THE PROPERTY VALUE APPEALS BOARD

You may appeal most decisions made by your 
local property value appeals board (PVAB) by 
filing a complaint with the Magistrate Division 
of the Oregon Tax Court. The Magistrate 
Division cannot accept appeals concerning 
late filing penalties [ORS 308.295(5) and 
308.296(6)].
	
The Magistrate Division complaint form, along 
with instructions, is available on the Tax Court’s 
website www.courts.oregon.gov/tax. (See 
Magistrate Division Property Tax Complaint 
& Instructions.)

There is a fee for filing a complaint with the 
Magistrate Division. The fee is subject to 
modification by the Oregon Legislature and 
should be verified with the Tax Court before 
filing. As of January 1, 2022 the filing fee is $50.

A written Magistrate Decision may be appealed 
to the Regular Division of the Oregon Tax Court.

Note: You only have 30 days from the date of mailing or personal delivery of the PVAB order 
to file your complaint with the Magistrate Division. A complaint is considered “filed” on the 
date that it is deposited with USPS or private express carrier (ORS 305.418).  It is good practice 
to keep receipts or other evidence of the date of mailing or dispatch.
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